Other Environmental Laws

While the department administers a number of environmental laws, other Ministries also have environmental responsibilities that link with the work of the department. For example:

  • departments within the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock, Forestry, Fisheries, and Biosecurity are responsible for the Fisheries Act No. 10 of 2014, the Forestry Act [Cap. 276], the Animal Importation and Quarantine Act [Cap 201], the Plant Protection Act [Cap 239] and the Pesticides (Control) Act [Cap 226].
  • departments within the Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources are responsible for the Petroleum (Exploration and Production) Act [Cap 227], the Quarry Act No. 9 of 2013, the Geothermal Energy [Cap 197], the Mines and Minerals [Cap 190] and the Pesticides (Control) Act No. 11 of 1983 [Cap 226] Water Resources Management Act [Cap 281].
  • departments within the Ministry of Public Utilities are responsible for the Shipping Act [Cap 53], the Maritime Act [Cap 131] and the Roads Act No. 35 of 2013.
  • departments within the Ministry of Internal Affairs, together with municipal and provincial governments, are responsible for the Physical Planning Act [Cap. 193] and the  Foreshore Development [Cap 90].

Copies of these laws can be found on PacLII.

Contact Us

Port Vila Office

Ministry of Climate Change Adaptation,
Meteorology & Geo-Hazards, Environment,
Energy and Disaster Management compound, Nambatu
PMB 9063, Port Vila
Phone: (678) 25302 | 33430

Luganville Office

Sanma Provincial Government Council,
PMB 239,

Location of DEPC Office

Most Read